For a regular user (like me) it is not possible to update a task created by myself. I'd expect to be able to refine an issue description and title when new insights were gained, instead of "updating" info by adding more and more comments. When trying to save in the task edit mode the following error is shown:
Only administrators and maintainers can change the edit policy on tasks. If you need to restrict access, ask a maintainer.
I never tried to touch the policy, it says "Public" on the task outside of edit mode and "Public (No Login Required)" in the edit mode. Not sure if these modes are different, but anyway, there shouldn't be an issue as long as I don't try to touch that setting on purpose. Could it be allowing policy "Public" was simply forgotten for users in edit mode, even though it is the default for new tasks?